One Day

in #poet6 years ago

 One day baby we'll be old and think of all the stories that we could've told.

I want you to try and visualize somebody from your past or from your present. Think of someone who comes to your mind with a sense of... regret. Perhaps regret over that person, or one you both shared together.

Try to really see this person in your mind; close your eyes for a minute and do it.   

I can see.   

Every single night, the same person comes to me.   

That apartment in Jerusalem. I remember it had the most beautiful wooden floor. It was that wooden floor we sat on, when we had a conversation that turned out to be the last one we’ll ever have.  I was with a girl that I've known for about six months, and it was love. We just kept running into each other.

But that night... We were crying and talking for hours.  
And I will never forget how she got up, turned around and walked right out the door.  

Just like that.   

She opened that damn door, stepped through it without throwing me a another glance and let it slam shut behind her.   

I stayed alone, not quite realizing that. But in a split of a second my body was drained;  I found myself lying on the floor. I could still hear her baby steps getting farther and farther away from me. It was that second I knew; someday I'll meet her on a street, somewhere in our small city. I'll be walking, years from now, fat or bold, or something. And suddenly I'll see her walking, probably with a stroller and a kid.  

I'll fix my hair and say, “Hey!"  

“Hi,” She will say and stop in front of me. "How- how you doing?"  

I'll lie and say, "I'm good, I'm good."  

“Great... Um, listen, I gotta go. Was nice seeing you."  

"Yeah, sure. Do your thing."  

But she’ll still stand there, hesitating. And then we’ll hug. Those long kind of hugs, that are a bit too long to be innocent.   

We'll split up and walk our separate ways, and I'll be back on that wooden floor.  

I'll be thinking, just like now.   

Should I stand up? Should I walk? should I walk to that door, open it, and say "Hey! Wait!"  

One day baby we'll be old and think of all the stories that we could've told.

inspired by Asaf Avidan's story on his concert and his song "one day".
Thanks to @daninfinity22 for helping me out

This thing is going threw my head a lot lately. Wanted to share this amazing thing with you, and hope it'll touch some of you.

Sort:  

Those who have known love in their lives, no matter how many times the heart was broken, those who walk among us with love pains and joys flowing in their veins, those are the luckiest of all.

And You are one of them.

מרגש.

♥️ ריגשת אותי עם התגובה שלך ממש, תודה

One day we will all be One... united with the Universe .

Posted using Partiko iOS