Addicted

in #poetr5 years ago (edited)

r1djhtobys.jpg

You used to be someone from my past, like the perfect friend
But unlike time you never passed, you stayed and I wonder when it will end
You race daily through my thoughts
I'm truly surprised you are not weary from this marathon

You break my mind piece by piece
Every memory I once savored are now armored to rob me of my peace
You are in my sleep when the night falls
And in my thoughts when the day calls
I've lost so much blood and time to you
Now day bleeds and you are not here to get me through it like before

Night weeps
You've sap me of every iota of strength in my day time
You haunt my dreams now I'm sleep deprived
You used to numb all the pain
But then I lost you and all signs of sane, there's no one to save
I need to get used to being someone you loved
Like you helped me before, I need to escape being loved

By the sidelines, I ask why, you sap every current from my lifeline
I run after you but you only race faster
I've grown used to being used, being slave and you the master

But a stray ray of light permeates my eyes
Tonight I just realized the truth
That if before you could save me and now drive me crazy
I must have let my guard down so you pulled the rug
But all I need to do is pull the plug
So now i will give you a rose
The red to let go and the green to grow
I direct my emotions to something right, and not what's left

My name- Addicted

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq