Coffee Cup

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Coffee cup

I can still taste the coffee on her lips
that was, for others, so repulsive a scent
but to me brought the light of day,
the light of life.

I still see the steam escaping the cup
enveloped in her sleeve drawn hands,
insulating the warmth of the morning;
this warmth in my heart.

I watch her, a waved strand of hair
falls loose before her eyes and shyness
overcomes, she pushes it back, smiles into her cup
and I smile into mine.

Her reflection tempts a sip of the bitter
beverage she loves so much, and prompts,
in me, a taste of the coffee,
the coffee on her lips.

24/08/2015

Sort:  

Very well written! Upvoted and Followed!
We of @poetrytrail are always looking for quality content like yours! Hope you will hop on too and take part in our poetry and story writing events, it would be a shame if we couldn’t share this great writing with more of the community!

Thank you so much, I'll take a look now and follow you back!