Steemit poetry contest #9. The Last One Turned 8.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, this is my entry for the steemit poetry contest #9 . its about a person lamenting the near end of the year and his hope for the next.. Hope u like it
2d3c7f3db025f8fd5ea26f70f14f98a2.jpg

I cut my palm rope climbing to the start line.

I broke my legs stumbling on thorn vines.

Halfway I took a stand to carry on.

Sweat and blood won't halt my run.




Near the end, I'm barely keeping my pace.

Maybe now I should rest this race.

I hardly can dance in this finishing festival

and on the brink is my survival.




Folks, they tell me I need a new sun,

but it takes till the new day for one to come.

Yet humans are they that are telling my fate

but at least a new start as the last one turns eight.
a819d5ca7b0c30e55298acfc0b867f56.jpg
IMG-20171223-WA0011.jpg

photo sources


Pinterest
deposit photos

Sort:  

Well written. I enjoyed reading, try to continue with creative contents.

Gee thanks 😀

Congratulations @annieshaka! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!