You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The Day That Trump Was Sworn" (poem) ... Is He Dividing The Nation or Are We?

in #poetry6 years ago

You are good at spelling out the problems and I agree with you, nobody knows how to even talk with others anymore - never mind debate.

Maybe babies should have a tiny operation so that the next generations can only communicate through texting?

Sort:  

@arthur.grafo,

Alas, it's not the means of communication, it's the meaning of it.

Perhaps I'm getting old, but I distinctly remember being good friends with people who didn't share all my political beliefs. We're reading too much into everything these days ... everything has symbolic meaning.

My experiences are more along the line of eyes turning glassy and people walking away, if I tell them something they don't want to hear. It does not even occur to them that they should try to argue their own beliefs.

Since you enjoy poetry, I am curious as to how you will react to some of the poetry here. I've found many attempts by people whose first language is something else, not English. I find that some I can barely understand what they are trying to say, but now and then I come across a unique little gem, a way of saying something or expressing a thought or feeling, that actually gives me the feeling the person is gifted.

@arthur.grafo,

Even when their first language is English, I often have a hard time understanding what poets are saying. :)

"Post-modernism" (actually a political ideology) changed art.

LIBERATE YOURSELVES! Throw off the shackles. No more rules! No more form! Anything goes! No ones right, no ones wrong. Everything and everyone is equally beautiful. Do you want to be an artist ... just say so, and you are!

Today, anything involving "words," that is not a "grammatically and syntactically correct sentence" (i.e. prose), is now being called "poetry."

Most poets are familiar with what Robert Frost had to say about free verse, "Writing free verse is like playing tennis without a net."

I prefer the sarcasm of G.K. Chesterton, “..."vers libre," (free verse) or nine-tenths of it, is not a new metre any more than sleeping in a ditch is a new school of architecture.”

In fairness, I've read some free verse that I find pleasurable, but in general, I much prefer verse.