I'm Awfully Well For The Shape I'm In

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)


source

There's nothing whatever the matter with me
I'm just as healthy as I can be.
I have arthritis in both of my knees
and when I walk I can't walk with ease.
My pulse is weak and my blood is thin,
but I'm awfully well for the shape I'm in.

I think my liver is out of whack,
and I have a terrible pain in my back.
My hearing is poor my sight is dim,
most everything seems to be out of trim.
But actually I'm awfully well for the shape I'm in.

I have arch supports for both my feet,
without them I can't walk down the street.
I can't sleep much night after night
and in the morning I'm just a sight.
My memory is failing and my head is in a spin,
and when it hurts I take aspirin.
But I'm awfully well for the shape I'm in.

The moral of this story I just told
Is that for you and me who are growing old,
It's better to say "I'm Fine" with a grin,
Than to let people know the shape that we are in.

This poem written by a friend of mine's father
"Norbert R. Klekot" he has since passed away.
May God rest his soul