Accident Prone: Entry for Comedy Open Mic Round #8

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

accidentprone.jpg


Funny is never my strong suit, so I wasn't sure I'd accept @alheath's nomination. But it occurred to me this poem I was working on might be acceptable. People do sometimes find my tendency to weird injuries humorous. All true stories, BTW. I have an MRI tomorrow morning to determine the state of my knee. Been limping around and mostly using crutches for about two weeks.



This poem has been deleted for personal reasons. If you wish to see samples of my fiction and poetry in a format that makes it easier to look at my work, please see my blog.


If you are a writer serious about improving your skills, the @ink-ubator community might appeal. Click the banner to check our web site for information.



Sort:  

It's kind of like when you get an injury and all you do is hit stuff against your wound making for a painful recovery, but in your case you are the injury.

Yes! If one thing gets better, something else goes wrong!

Cynical humor, just what we'd expect from you @bex-dk. The combination of a destroyed knee and an egg salad sandwich was the best part.

Hopefully that was a damn good egg salad sandwich! :)

Nah, just average. Sadly. High price to pay.

Haha, you took the words from my thoughts and just said them better.

Welcome to #ComedyOpenMic we're delighted to have you participate.

Hope MRI goes well

Thank you! I survived but it... Uhm... Seems to have inspired another poem. I have a dreadful case of poetry poxe.

Something bad was about to happen to the Bings

Monica: Is it possible?

Chandelier: What do you think? It's us!

Hi @bex-dk, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Nice one though, sorry about your travails. I thought I was the worst

This is great! I mean, the imagery alone is wonderful, but the way it all ties together makes me love it. Thank you for sharing this wonderful poem!

Thanks! I'm pretty happy with how it turned out.

Fantastic work. The humour is very dark, yet extremely playful.

Thanks. I guess I am capable of funny when I include self deprecation and don't try...

This is good, I'm glad you accepted my nomination!

Love the poem and the humour. Like Neg said, cynical humour but it's great!

funny poem. made my night. keep it up! :)

"Hypermobile"? That does not sound good! Joints and ligaments have to stay in place where nature put put them to support you. This post is a testimonial to the notion that the inspiration for art can come from anywhere!

I am naturally this way. Basically my tendons and ligaments are too flexible and my joints don't stop where other people's do. So I overextend them constantly, making everything worse. I have since that surgery been diagnosed with hypermobility syndrome.