How Rilke's poems changed my life

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Rainer Maria Rilke in Moscow by Leonid Pasternak (1928).jpg

I consider him one of the greatest poets of all time. I don't know German so I read translations and his poems in French. I'm fond of his delicate style and huge experience he had through his life, especially the great influence of Russian culture on him and the continuous traveling he had across Europe.

His style is powerful and passion!ate at the same time, sometimes he calls the most fragile things in human soul especially when he talks about God. Other times he portrays exquisitely our interaction with nature. His words are very dense with imagery and insight. Every time I read his poems I feel amazed of how his well-built images could fit in his strong lyrical style.