Novalis [Day 20]

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Novalis.png

the blue flower
springs
splitting
caulk and brick
like a chisel

hammer striking
steel, blue
with clouds
hanging from
creaky wooden
rafters

cobblestones polished
by shoes and the spittle
of senile time
chewing leaf
and staining teeth
a milky blue,
heaven checking
her hair in a puddle

the covered well
leans
precariously
over a plot
of southern daisies,
rampant
like flies
lazily waiting
for the swat
of a tail

the blue flower
clings
decidedly
on the side
splitting
a covered well
like a secret

a wish
seemingly
impossible

a miracle
my heart is full
of water.

z_divider.png

"Afar lies the world –
sunk in a deep grave –
waste and lonely is its place"

Written for free-verse poetry maven @d-pend's revolutionary poetry initiative The 100 Day Poetry Challenge [Advanced Group] undertaken for Steemit School where @d-pend will be hosting a daily poetry show at 6 PM GMT.

thank you for the read
z_IOW_WM_BLACK.png
@isleofwrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics
header photo base is public commons

Sort:  

The poetry in all things; worming its way between cracks in the wall, embodied in the swing between one moment and another (I especially like the image of Father Time as a cantankerous old tobacco chewer). I can appreciate the symbolism of the blue flower as well, although sadly I am not as well versed in the Romantics as I would like. Always enjoy seeing your posts pop up in my feed.

WOW. I find this absolutely brilliant. Thank you for sharing!

Always honored to impress a writer who has impressed me so many times, my friend Vitaly z_thank_you.png

Wonderful work in contrasting images, Carmalain:)

I like the competing imagery, envisioning a flowering then overrun it with spittle the back to the flower. Not sure if this in intended but it’s what I felt.
-M

Beautiful fabric of words that speaks of persistence, transcendence, life. Exquisite poem, @carmalain. Greetings, affectionates.

Gorgeous stuff, here, Alain, in every stanza a startling, memorable image. I single out these 2, but I might as well have picked another 2 or 4. Good work, man!

"with clouds
hanging from
creaky wooden
rafters
...

heaven checking
her hair in a puddle"