You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unafraid - a Love Poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

The most compelling stanza here, for me as a reader, Inna, is definitely:

We will drip
Into each other's pores
Drop by drop

Man, if this piece doesn't have your attention with its Icarian allusion and attention to pacing, both in structure and in its importance to relationships, well then it's got your attention now!

That stanza is so vicereal and captivating, it says so much in so little (and I'm more than a wee bit jealous of that). and its ability to set up the slant and interneal rhymes of the next stanza:

We will spill
Out of each other's lips
Sip by sip

gosh, it makes for such a strong third movement and builds the foundation that makes that closing line that much more impactful!

I know you might not be able to tell from my comment, but - believe it or not - big fan of this one, @authorofthings, and I love it for the context in which it exists, as well. A prefect day for being wary (edited!*) of the sun.

Thank you for sharing.

Sort:  

Much appreciation for the thoughtful commentary, Alain. I might be wary of the sun, on occasion, but I doubt I'll every get weary of it. :-)