well scuffed ball [Day 24]

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

well scuffed ball.png

                                                no one understands
                                                the end of winter

                                                quite like
                                                a well scuffed ball

z_divider.png

I'll be back home when dinner is on the table & football's on the tele.

I have made a few edits since posting - once a longer poem, I have slowly been editing out lines til now. I think this was the poem it was always meant to be. sorry for the confusion.

Written for free-verse poetry maven @d-pend's revolutionary poetry initiative The 100 Day Poetry Challenge [Advanced Group] undertaken for Steemit School where @d-pend will be hosting a daily poetry show at 5 PM GMT.

thank you for the read
z_IOW_WM_BLACK.png
@isleofwrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics
header photo base is public commons

Sort:  

no-one is able to understand the boy better that his well scuffed buddy-ball, no-one had been there!
This was my first thought on this piece.

Beautiful poetry that tells us about the change of season. The arrival of the greens. Suggestive writing. Good job, friend @carmalain.

always grateful for your words and read, @zeleiracordero z_thank_you.png

Certainly, some things are just forgotten from time to time, and there's no better way to appreciate good things in life than when you've been deprived of them. Multum in parvo, @carmalain7. You say a lot in a few words. Loved it :-)

Thank you for the kind words and read, @marlyncabrera z_thank_you.png

Short and sweet :) but Daniel is gonna eat you for the missing 10 lines LOL ... that being said you ok you haven't posted in 2 days it seems and I would be heartbroken to see you drop out of the challenge Poke ...don't do this fluffy dark weez needs yous ... I'll even share a piece of Pie ... a little one admittedly ... miniscule :P but still Pie ;)

I don't mind, and no worries, I just went for a few days walk, which was nice.
Even in the city, it's important to unplug and take time to befriend the bees.

:) I love bees even though I am deathly allergic but they never sting me so I am good LOL

You've summed up the end of winter in the suburbs, certainly as I once knew it. Four lines of poetic wonder.

it's as much a biography as a poem <3

Hi @carmalain7! Beautiful little poem. Featured in the Isle's curation post this week :)

Dang, nice. I love how subtly lonely this is. Very well observed!