LOST INNOCENCE--an original poem

in #poetry7 years ago

IMG_0564.JPG

LOST INNOCENCE

After Mom died, I curled
in our clover patch,
my cherubic lips cursing
the night's first star
and all its promises.

After he left me, I ripped up
our fence, pickets tearing
my soft palms, pansies
scattering, their spindly roots
groping for air.

After the towers toppled, I questioned
the ground, feeling the earth's fear
imprint my sturdy feet,
it's cries lodge, pulsating
in my gut.

Now I cower and wait, flinching
with dread, knowing teeth gnash
under my bed, while God
nods off playing chess
with the Devil.

by Caroline Reichard

IMG_0565.JPG

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

This is some good piece of poetry. I can feel the loss and the pain that you have mentioned in the poem.

Keep writing poetry.

Thank you! 😊 I'm glad it touched you.

Congratulations @carolinereichard! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carolinereichard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!