You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sister Mine: With You in the Dreaming

in #poetrylast year

In the dreaming we go on.
I love this:
But the soul, it does remember
Keeps it safely tucked away
In a corner made of blankets
Two young girls will always be.

My sister at 18 was murdered in 1975. It's been almost half a century now.
Sisters #2 and #3 died six months apart. Quite recently. Ages 63 and 62.
I have one sister left.
You woke up from a dream about your sister. I've been told (by someone from a school of metaphysics who conducted research on it) that when visited by a loved one who does not speak in a dream, we were visited by the spirit of that departed loved one.
My mom sometimes dreams of her three daughters, and they often speak, but maybe that doesn't mean they're not visiting her in her dreams.
I feel your pain.... thanks for the poem.

Sort:  

Murdered! I thought a car accident was traumatic, the suddenness of it, but murder...that must have been unimaginably difficult for you and your family.

And now two more sisters, I'm sorry, that has to be so hard. Were they ill, or was it unexpected? The past 18 months there has been a lot of unexpected loss among the people I know. And not among a predicted demographic, seems one shock after another.

That's very interesting. The first couple of years in particular I had many dreams of her that she didn't speak in. Along with other supernatural things that occurred in waking life. I plan to write a story about that time period sometime soon.

Your poor mom. Hard enough to lose siblings, but outliving children is terrible :(

Not just murder, but she was missing for months, then found at last (so many are never found, and Not Knowing is worse than knowing). Her killers were never apprehended. They walk free today. They're grandpas. Of the accomplices, 3 of 4 "persons of interest" are now dead. It's a very long and complicated story, and nobody was arrested, just free to kill again.... and they did.... then moved to Vegas.
Second sister was sick with leukemia for 27 years.
Third sister was the marathon runner and fitness buff and super achiever, the one we figured would live to be 150. No one could have imagined she'd be the one struck down by cancer. Gone six months after the diagnosis. A brutal, vicious, ugly, insanely painful six months....
Sudden death is a blessing, I swear, having seen invalids suffering for months and years.
We all hope to die peacefully in our sleep, I suppose, or while parachuting from high in the sky.
Demential is the worst. I've seen parents of my h.s. classmates, five years in a nursing home, not knowing their own children.... why don't they die... why.... why....

Thanks for the kind words, and may your sister continue to visit you in your dreams, @dreemit!