Whereabouts

in #poetry4 years ago

Written by Destiny Bergeron

Have you seen it?
I swear!

it was just right here...

It's just words,

in nicely arranged sentences

but it's mine...

I wrote a couple of lines

Then was rudely interrupted

by life

Now I can't remember

a single word,

not one rhyme

I searched under my mattress

And in all my pockets

I swear I checked everywhere

It can't just disappear

It's a poem it can't just

grow legs and walk away

It's a piece of paper

My Mom would say
the saint Joseph prayer~

And tell me not to fear~

Well, please!!! look around, look around

cause this poem is nowhere

to be found

I turned my whole house

upside down

Attempting to find the whereabouts

Of those words I jotted down~

And all I have is

a big mess to pick up now

Written In memory of

Shel Silverstein

He taught me poetry can be funny

Shel died May 10 1999

His words live on forevercroppedscreenshot_20190220224226e1580429049897.png