For the Love of Kids Competition #1 - The Travels to My Other Self

in #poetry6 years ago

The Travels to My Other Self

an original work by celsius100

I have been young forever
Just between you and I
I have seen things I never
Thought I would see. I fly.

Could it be magic? I guess
That could explain it all
Tho I do not know, i confess
Why I'm not growing tall

I have traveled around the sun
At least once every time I wake
I have traveled so much, it's fun
But can you just give me a break

My other self that I talked to
Said please let me go in your place
No one else will know but you
I'd be back in a flash, in case

So we have been swapping places
At least every other trip
And we don't leave any traces
They won't be spotting our ship

It's long past time, you must choose
Which place you have decided on
But it is so easy to confuse
Which self is it going gone

The one that is staying here
Was the one that was staying there
It really didn't matter cause we're
Swapping out, an identical pair

It's magical, that's what I call it
Instant trips to faraway lands
I don't know how its done, i admit
But like magic, just wave your hands

Animation source: pbskids.org on giphy