THINGS HAVE CHANGED - A Rhyming Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

While you were on vacation stuff was really going down.
A shadow shook the nation and a terror took the town.
It's madness at the equator, and chaos at the poles;
There's devils on the prowl collecting all the unclaimed souls.

I hope you had a good time though, I see you caught some rays.
We haven't been that lucky here, the sun's been gone for days.
Your home's been fully ransacked, your possessions are all gone;
But come by my place later for a cookout on my lawn.

The factory you worked at ain't a factory no more;
They're hording food and ammo, getting ready for the war.
You're out a full-time job, my friend, but that'll be okay,
'Cause finding food is more important now than weekly pay.

What happened to your family? I don't know who they are,
But honestly, I've run down several people with my car.
But that was like a week ago, I'm long since out of gas;
This fighting for survival really knocks you on your ass.

I'm really glad you're back, like I already may have said.
And sorry for the gun that I'm now pointing at your head.
My children are all starving and you have some extra meat,
So if you'll kindly spare a leg my family could eat.

Sort:  

thx for sharing

Funny, I have days like that.
Lots of them.
Stay away from my right side, I've got the swollen black spots all over...

Interesting post. Following and upvoted and thanks again for following! :)

Congratulations @chrisroberts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very well written. Contemporary and real and very touching ...
Upvoted and followed @nehab