Flowlosophy (Original Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image.png


Just one voice can feel little-bitty
and politics have always been shitty.
Thoughts are always racing away,
trying to lead all our ideas astray.
The ego whispers that we know best
and leads us to judge all of the rest.
Each day finds ways to sing the blues,
but most of them are just fake news.
I could find plenty of reasons to drink
or find some other way not to think,
but I look to the sky and all of these stars
and I find some peace inside these bars.
Life is what we make of it in the end,
so I let the bullshit go, focus, and then,
the path I walk doesn't feel so alone,
I'm not beholden to what I don't condone.
Life is more complicated than I perceive;
An idea can change the world if I believe.
Truth isn't something that can be shown,
it transcends perspective and can only be known.
Before I waste my time trying to convince
or convicting another until he repents,
I need to look inward for the answers I seek;
Consciousness doesn't plateau or peak.
Awareness expands in an unending fashion;
Compassion is an endless inferno of passion.
When it's all said and done, remember my name,
I am one with the stars and born of the flame.


If you are a fellow poet or like to hear spoken word please check out this
post for a live poetry jam this week! I hope to see you there! Namaste.

Image source.

Sort:  

Someone told me once that the artist loves the limits of his medium, because it gives his art direction. A marble statue is distinctly marble, a watercolor is distinctly fluid, etc. "Finding some peace in these bars" reminded me of that...bars could be steel or musical measures.

"An idea can change the world if I believe."

Whispers yes! to self. I wouldn't mind hearing this poem in a poetry slam. Crutching with vices, ignorance, and the eternal soul. Bruh.

:) I had to write something fresh, I'll keep working on some more this week.

Please do c: I love your poems too!~ Always on your toes like a cheetah x'D

Mad jam

Sounded more like a retrospective freestyle

The ego whispers that we know best
and leads us to judge all of the rest.

Aye! More like the perspective thing you always talk about

Life is more complicated than I perceive;
An idea can change the world if I believe.
Truth isn't something that can be shown,
it transcends perspective and can only be known.
Before I waste my time trying to convince
or convicting another until he repents,
I need to look inward for the answers I seek;
Consciousness doesn't plateau or peak.

And this does it for me. Ideas change the world. It may not look like it, but we're either promoting one idea or the other each we make choices or even think. And before we step out to judge other people's motives, we must first subject ourselves to our litmus test.

There's no limit to the things we can know. (However, I think there's a limit to which people are ready to know; maybe I'm wrong)

Blessings

Before I waste my time trying to convince
or convicting another until he repents,
I need to look inward for the answers I seek;
Consciousness doesn't plateau or peak.
.........i love this