100 Days Of Poetry: Day 11

in #poetry6 years ago

In moments of quiet, those gremlins creep in—the voices that say...you can’t do it, you’re not good enough, what were you thinking?

In those moments, you have a choice. You can back down, give up, turn away...or you can dig in and look fear in the face!


3F773D7E-6B54-4351-8FE2-A782DC71F7E7.jpeg

The Stand

Naked, I’m seen exposed
Nothing to cover my flaws
Nowhere to run, nor hide.

All eyes looking at me
What about are they thinking?
Seeing all in- and outside.

Am I enough for them?
Am I to be accepted?
Or, do I come up short?

My mind is racing thoughts
Of negative perceptions
And assumptions of sorts.

What will I do right now?
Will I try to disappear?
Hope that no one saw me?

Or, will I stand proudly
In who I am, and am not—
Facing fears, fearlessly?

21C85239-B7B9-417B-B51E-9D6E4C8435A6.jpeg


Written as part of @d-pend's revolutionary poetry initiative The 100 Day Poetry Challenge undertaken for Steemit School.

Hi Friends! Thanks For Reading!


received_1828048737268297.jpeg


Hi! My name is Coach JJ and I've been coaching and inspiring athletes to better health and fitness for over five years! I'm a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer at CrossFit Edwardsville in Edwardsville, IL, USA. But, my vision is to bring together the Fitness Community on Steemit in order to have a greater impact on improving the health and fitness of our fellow Steemians.

I'm also a mother of two teens and a self-defined “spicy, sassy Christ-follower” who posts about my personal journey, but loves all those on any journey. Feel free to check out my intro post, get inspired on your fitness journey, or ponder on my faith-based posts. If any of this connects with you, follow me and say Hello!

Happy Steeming,
Coach JJ


The STEEM Engine



Sort:  

As someone who suffers from these thoughts all too often it's encouraging to see them so cleanly represented (and banished!) in verse. Thanks for the read.

Thanks @lazarus-wish. I’m glad you enjoyed and could identify.

Short and simple and yet embodying the complicated challenge facing the character; to run and hide or to stand and face the challenge. Great read. Thanks for the share

Thanks @skokie for stopping by and commenting :)

Healthy Strong and Fearless.
Welcome Pen'd Reminders.

Endless questions, always questioning self... as aways I do, every time.

Do we have the answer?

This is to inform on the behalf of @d-pend that your poetry is seen for the 100 day challenge. Keep up the good work.