...until it's gone

in #poetry7 years ago

Romantic-Couple-Wallpaper-HD.jpg

Sitting in the truck talking about appreciation,
Drifted into the topic of love like some remediation,
Thinking back to those times and how I should have been
Neglecting the beauty of each moment we were living in.
Before I knew it, those two syllables left my lips
Uttering your name made it all feel amiss
For that split second a victim of each kiss, your soft finger tips
Your name could never mean anything else to me, &*!@$
Lust is all I have now, while love stays on parole

Photo from: https://www.siebkehoyt.com

Sort:  

I liked the rhythm and rhyme scheme throughout the poem and the sudden abandoning of it in the last lines. Great write.

Thank you.
I decided to conceal the name of the woman I speaking of, and yet reveal it through rhyme using the last word in the poem.

Oh, I get. I just happened to re-read your reply and I understand what you're saying now. That's pretty clever. I like it.

If you'd like, check out some of my stuff. I'd like to hear what you think. These are some of my latest...

One - a poem about math and love
Something to Say - spoken word about why I write
The Web - spoken word about love
Progress - 3 word haiku about mankind
Hogna Carolinensis - haiku about a species of spider

Will definitely check it out.
I like quality content and there's too much junk being posted these days.