A Haiku Flurry...

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

"I think the coming of spring, the stars overhead, the first snowfall and so on are gifts for a child, a young poet."
- Sylvia Plath -


Why does it take contests to motivate me?

Well, there are other sources of motivation I suppose, but a good challenge somehow seems to get me "off my duff" and writing. The immediate motivation is @vdux's Snowy Haiku contest.

The challenge from @vdux is to write a haiku about snow. For reasons I can't explain, this triggered more than a half dozen haiku about snow, and thus the title of this article.

Haiku about snow just kept coming,

a veritable flurry of haiku.

Table of Contents

A Blizzard of Haiku... - Image courtesy of Joy Real

Snow is magical.

Note: My dear Steemian friend @lakshmi got me going on haiku years ago. You can find a genuine blizzard of haiku in my Poetry Library here.


~A Haiku Flurry~

by Duncan Cary Palmer

    Such beautiful white,
Soft and quietly, snow comes,
    So cold to the touch.


Beautifully soft,
Quietly, gently, snow falls,
Melting on my face.

    Soft, white, floating down,
Swirling past the bright streetlights,
    Snowflakes come to rest.

Softly drifting by,
Glist'ning in day-bright moonlight,
Snowfall comes to earth.

    I tilt my head back,
The air choked with flakes of snow,
    Moisture on eyelids.

Looking up, I smile.
The sky is filled with snowflakes.
My face is wet now.

    Hushed, falling softly,
White puffs moved by winter winds
    Pile up into drifts.

Icicles are hard.
Danger falls from frozen eaves.
Fallen snow cushions.

    Snow, like drawn covers,
Blankets the earth with silence.
    Night falls, cotton soft.


~FIN~


Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.


Table of Contents

Snowflake: Unique but Transient - Image courtesy of Aaron Burden


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more poetry,
please check out our Library Poetry Shelf - CLICK below:


@creatr


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.98162471517819
This post was voted: 100%

Thanks!

Softly falling snow.
Such lovely inspiration
for words that tickle. :)

Ideas for haikus
Come in bunches like snowfall.
Too much to shovel.

I’m not sure what that means. 🤦‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

LOL!

Great response, thanks... ;)

Lovely, and yes, I've had flurries of haiku come at many points in my life. Haiku are the best.

BTW, your link for the Proton goes to an error message. Have a great day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Greetings, @crescendoofpeace!

Thanks for your visit and comments. Thank you also for the notice about the proton link...

However, it seems to be working here?

I wonder, is the error message you are getting related to "security?" We do not have https set up on our server, and some browsers complain about that, or even prevent you from opening it.

Whatever the cause, I do greatly appreciate your bringing it to my attention. I need to investigate the https issue in any case!

Thanks again!

Nicely done my friend @creatr.

Thank you, Troy. :D

You inspired me to steal, but I don't feel bad :)

Looking up, I smile.
Kissed by a million snowflakes,
My face is wet now.

Love this! :)

My friend, you can't steal from me... Take whatever I may have to offer as a gift! :D