You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Original poem about a shell-shocked WWI soldier

in #poetry7 years ago

Your command of language is astounding; the imagery is enticing and real. The conclusion of your poem really drives home the residue of war as it is burned in the minds of soldiers. I often listen to my own grandfather (by marriage) tell stories of WWII where he survived work camps; his mother, sister, and father all perished in the Holocaust. He replays the same stories and they haunt him, yet he is full of light and love. Thank you for your poem. I post often to poetry in Steemit, too. Thank you.

Sort:  

Thank you so much! Yes, his story is the tale of a life lost, and I wanted to let his voice be heard. My father was in WWII also, and I have many of his war stories and recollections. I'll check out your poetry as well! Thanks again!

We are on the cusp of losing all of the stories first-person. My grandfather is 95! I hope he lives until 105, but just in case we have recorded his stories. He says, "Be happy. Be friendly." He always is always singing and dancing. Good advice.

Before my father passed away, I recorded his stories as well. I'm so glad I did! I loved listening to his stories! In fact, my first novel, Between Shadow's Ears, was based off of a story my dad used to tell. Your grandfather sounds a lot like my dad. Always happy and positive. Yes, good way to live!