Reverie

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I'm sitting in silence deep in thought which I am want to do from time to time. The wind is blowing a little which is always pleasurable, a black cat sleeps on the couch above me whilst an over grown kitten tumbles around with a toy bear.

I take this time for reverie and thought, wondering and trying to understand our world; succeeding in no way whatsoever.

I look at changing times, welcoming many of the changes to antiquated and ridiculous ideas yet yearning for the freedom of the past where in many respects life was "easier", yet not. It all makes you wonder.

So many issues all brought to the fore; communication wider than it could be imagined to be possible, yet has it become an intrusion? Perhaps it has in many ways, in fact, it definitely has, when we are dictated to on so many levels by Government on what we may eat, drink, where we may do it, whilst being locked in and out buildings for fear of terrorist attacks. Nobody can breathe any more nor think outside media it would seem.

Yet would I truly want to return to the past? The answer to that is no, yet I miss certain aspects of it.

However, they are the past and I live now, and will embrace the future and all it brings. Like the past, like now, the future is a mixture of what individuals make it. That part of life will never change.


[Source])(https://www.nbc.com/reverie)

If you like what I am doing on my blog kindly leave an upvote. Thanks