CORPSE CAROUSEL

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

lhncn6.jpgCORPSE CAROUSEL.
Never ending circles
Of ever-growing distortion
With lovers that fool you
And friends that lie

This is the morbid truth
Of such a handsome fantasy
A lethal venom in the form of a horse

Wearing silk ribbon reins
And corpses bound by chains

Welcome to a corpse carousel

SWEET NIGHTMARES.
I awaken in a world
Where I am asleep
The underwhelming sensation of blood in my veins
Is a burden
The burden of being unable to shout in a dream

Steady breathing guides me through a void
Where distant memories can turn your sleepwalk into a nightmare
With just the blink of an eye

I see myself withering
In a daylight which seems dark
As I try to shake myself from a state of unconsciousness

But the best I can do
Is cut through this abyss
With a blood soaked blade
And smile

THE ENCHANTED SNAKE.
Slither around me
And whisper your lies

But know that I am not stupid
I see through those eyes

REPENT.
Worshipping the fire within you
She holds her heart in her hands
An offering to your sadistic mind

Chanting your name
With the final breath of her burning lungs
She cries for your forgiveness
For she has sinned

Who is she to refuse such sacred lies
How dare she question the power in which you hold

REPENT
REPENT
REPENT

WORDS FROM THE PULPIT
Shards of stained glass
Pressed against pale white skin
I lie still upon this alter of secrets

The Devil in the pulpit smiles and declares my sacrifice
As she speaks in a sinister tongue
“You came too close to sharing”

THE BOY WHO CRIED WOLF
Although my heart is large
It shrinks with every lie

I seem to fall for loving wolves
With a rather dishonest cry

INCY WINCY FUCKING SPIDER.
It wouldn’t be so bad
If I wasn’t attached to every part of you
Because now I am a black widow
Webbing up every part of my life
And killing those who set me free

PARADOX.
Tell me a lie
Let me watch
As it drips from your mouth
Like blood from a bullet wound

Tell me a lie
I’ll let you watch
As you pull the trigger against my chest

THE BECOMING
Broken hearts lead to broken promises
And we find ourselves looking into mirrors
To see the monsters under our beds
That we were once so deeply afraid of

AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN.
I’m never quite sure
If you’ve broken my heart enough

So, I return
And ask you to try harder this time

MOTHER.
A blackened silhouette
That whispers choke-worthy words
To my dying soul

GRAVEYARD HEART.
I seem to have forgotten how I felt
Before my heart started aching

Like a ghost with no recollection
Of how she died

BLISS.
There is a darkness that dims a summers day sky
And stands over beds in the warmth of candlelight

It watches a smile wearing a suit of disgust
And plays on swing sets hiding behind the facade of a child

You see this shadow
With its claws to an infants throat

So why are you standing there
With a bible in one hand
And popcorn in the other?

This darkness is the bliss of ignorance
That everyone holds so close to their hearts

BLOODBATH.
With every “I love you”
That exits your mouth
A blood price is paid

Soon it will be my blood
Being spilled upon your hands

Warning me to take a step away
And never turn back

LIAR LIAR.
Every night
Your lies that I’ve ignored
Torture me
Like a toddler in a tantrum
Begging me to take notice

I can’t hear myself think over the noise
So I mask the screams
And pretend that you were truthful all along

BAIT.
Lured like a honey bee
To a nectar coated web
I walked into your labyrinth

Silk was spun so finely
And passageways bent so convincingly

How was I to see the difference
Between the warmth of a heart
And the burning touch of hatred

STARVE.
Your love is a famine
That sits so well
On an already empty stomach

WHAT IS RESPECT?
Swallow your pride
My darling
For whatever he says goes

Swallow your pride my darling
For his lies have reached new lows

DEAL WITH IT.
How are you expected to cope
When everyone that taught you
Taught you wrong

Left alone in a pile of shit
You are expected to cope

A child in the middle of a horse race
You are expected to cope

You are expected to be happy
Just because you aren’t crying

A SLICE OF DOUBLE LIFE
To live a double life
Is to carry a double-edged sword
But the silver is so precious
That you never want to let go

FELT TIP PENS.
Every time we argued
Our love split and spilled
Like two distant puddles
On a freshly written page
Soaking everything we worked for
And mutating every word

FALSE HOPE.
Fuck fairytales
And their endings