Tales of a Street Youth

in #poetry6 years ago

I was told to learn to make it on my own
And it is the realest thing I have ever known

They say I am at liberty to dream as big as the Milky Way
But then, I will have to pave my very own way

The street is not just my home; it's where I keep all what I own
It's where I have lived all my life; it's much more than a home

Many call me names to my credit and discredit
But I am less concerned about the script they edit

I have a different story to tell the generations to come.
I begun long time ago and this' how far I have come

From the getho where I was born and grown,
Where I have seen many slip down the throne

In my shoes on your way through the wilderness,
You have more to lose than to gain; so so bitterness

To make it in my world, you must be hundredth in a million
And to keep it, you must be a centurion

But these are not reasons enough for me to let go,
Especially, not while I still feel the need to flow

My case is not one you'll love to hear; not here
So I will keep the lid on the rest until a better year.