DEMOCRATIC DRUMS

in #poetry6 years ago

PicsArt_05-22-05.25.37.jpg


I have no more time for certain things.
You look at the sky and it is far,
Look at the ground, it is near you,
But the chain still clanks and rankles
Your embellished ankles.

Then I remember that I also have neighbours,
Or had neighbours!
Where have the young ones gone to?
The streets stare at me as we capitulate in toto.

Nobody seems to be home;
The blank stare, pains me to my bone;
We have all forgotten the birth pangs –
Just staring and looking bland.

The judiciary is skewed by powers
To consistently serve their masters;
My country has fallen in ranks
While we tank on foreign banks;
As our currency is on a free fall,
All we only hear are catcalls.

Unfounded fear, anxiety and insecurity
Have become a routine on a daily bases,
Creating anger, hatred, frustration,
Despair and depression.

The bastions of our values are eroding
And democracy is on the decline.
Driven by wealth and greed,
The courted bride was ushered into our palace;
At sunset, the revelation ascended –
The bride transmuted into a vampire.

Sort:  

Poem for thoughts
We hope for change in time

Weird poem...

Well thought and writing