Afterthought - Original Free Verse Poetry - Enjoy with Troy!

in #poetry2 years ago

image.png

Source

Afterthought

I should have, but I didn't.
I could have...why?

What was I thinking? Where did I go wrong?
I didn't see it coming.
Now it is so obvious and real.
Like I have been here before. sometime long ago.
And yet, foresight has forsaken me.

What was I thinking? What could I have done?
Did I not listen to the signs and warnings?
It is so clear to me now , yet I was blinded by the moment.
When will I learn from my past?
Oh hindsight, why do you haunt me with your guilt?

What was I thinking? Will I ever change?
Will I find understanding and resolve?
How many times have I done this and yet,
Have I forgiven myself? Did I finally learn?
What insight have I embraced from my journey?

I should have, but I didn't.
I could have...Will I next time?


images (9).png

Thanks for listening. Feel free to comment, upvote or repost.

Sort:  

Distracted by time and absorbed by digitalisation that makes even feelings binary. Such is human nature, if we don't learn the first time, time takes care of the same stumbling blocks until we learn the lesson.