My First Haiku Poems

in #poetry4 years ago

Haiku Poems

Greetings everyone, it is my first time posting on #hiveblog and I want to start with sharing five Haiku poems that I made. But before I do, let me explain what it is.
In my own words,

A Haiku is a Japanese poem structure.
It has three lines.
The syllables of each line or mora is 5 - 7 - 5

If you want to know more

Features of Haiku
It contains three lines.
It has five moras (syllables) in the first line, seven in the second, and five in the last line.
It contains 17 syllables in total.
A Haiku poem does not rhyme.
Haiku poems frequently have a kigo, or seasonal reference.
Haiku poems are usually about nature or natural phenomena.
The poem has two juxtaposed subjects that are divided into two contrasting parts.
In English, this division between two parts can be shown by a colon or a dash.
Source:https://literarydevices.net/haiku/

My poems

Tea

haiku 1.jpg

Do enjoy a cup
when tea brings you peace and calm
you can't do with one.

Rose

Your roses left dead
the petals blown by the wind,
feelings yet alive.

Cacti

Cute things but take care
your soft gentle finger could bleed
Oh lovely cactus!

Leaves

Leaves grow then they fall,
Lovers go like the storm do
yet the strong ones remain.

Candle

Candle light flickers,
some claims to see the future
will the light betray?

I never thought that writing Haiku is fun. words don't need to rhyme but they make sense for me. This is short yet brings solid message. My friend @jacinta.sevilla suggested this to me and I decided to try it. Thank you for also suggesting good photos to use!
I really love reading books and writing, now that things are stressful, this brings us a good way to express creativity and try many new ways to do things. Stay strong in these hard times and keep working hard.

Small reintroduction




For those of you who have not met me here, even if I am not too active but I try, You can call me Eunhye! I am in my late 20's yet still with younger imaginations. I came from the Philippines and is a nurse by profession. I don't really have more time to pursue my writing because of joggling everyday from work to school as I'm also currently studying a foreign language. However, I need to have a life no matter how busy it gets and a huge part of my life is in reading and writing. Reading is my escape, writing is like my first love. I can't write everyday like I used to before but there are still times wherever I go and some words just popped into my mind and voila! Then I got a prose or a poem. So, you could expect most of my posts here to be poems or prose though I really want to write stories real bad. If I only have the luxury of time to finish a story. It's like I have this complex and vague imaginations in my mind that I need to put into writing but I can't produce and finish it yet. It's frustrating yet I know my time will come. When that time comes, I would definitely post it here. I am new here and not really familiar with the site and all but I know reading helps and I hope I would also receive tips from other members here.

Truly yours!

Eunhye

Grateful for the time you have spent reading my little poetry,
see you!

Sort:  

Awesome! Np :D it's time we did some other stuff in quarantine! Hehe

Nice pictures. Your mom would be proud he he.

Congratulations @eunhye.gray! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!