Myself, Maybe, But Nobody Else

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Not meaning to eavesdrop,
I listen as my son and his friend
discuss their grandfathers' war experiences
in the backseat.
I'm fascinated (what dad wouldn't be)
but also troubled,
not because I have any illusions about war
(I don't)
but because I have no illusions about my son.

Nice kid
but what we called a spastic growing up.
Couldn't punch his way out of a wet paper bag
or hit the ground with his cap.
Me, I played what the season offered,
basketball in the winter,
baseball after the thaw,
football as the leaves fell.
I couldn't get enough, in other words,
of what my son will have none of.

But he's got his mother's heart,
so when he says to his friend,
I would never kill anybody
and would deliberately miss
if I had to shoot. In fact,
I would do everything I could
to make sure nobody died.
Myself, maybe,
but nobody else
,
I have to pull over.

Sort:  

Congratulations @freeradical! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @freeradical! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!