My Inamorata!

in #poetry6 years ago

e76383b0955604524004cba37e4ca9d0.jpg
image source here

stanza 1
Gazing through my spectacles,
I began to observe the environment,
ding-ding and kpla-kpla were the sounds,
The class's state made me wallow in disdain.

stanza 2
I had swerved my eyeballs off my book,
The noises got me in a hook,
There was argument on one end,
The other end got me confused.

stanza 3
I leaned my forehead on the table,
With my long tie facing south,
T'was as if I had visited the market,
But suddenly silence visited.

stanza 4
The atmosphere was filled with serenity,
Thought death visited all except me,
My heart beating in nano-seconds,
To clear my doubt I looked up hastily.

stanza 5
All eyes focusing on the same direction,
With curiosity I followed suit,
Her beauty caught their attention,
Behold! It was my inamorata.

stanza 6
Having her was like heaven to me,
Her beauty was immeasurable,
If I were God I would take her as wife,
Kpoho-Kpoho - she's MY INAMORATA!

PROPERTIES OF THE POEM

  • Author / Writer- Gabriel Ogbeche aka gabeman

  • Date/Time- 04/05/2018, 15:00 "Nigerian Time"

  • It's a 24 line poem with 6 Stanzas, Each stanza having 4 lines,,, Each line is separated by a comma(,).

  • Enjambment / Run-on-Lines was not used in the poem..
    Enjambment is when a sentence has more than one line or runs through two lines and above.
    In this case, there's none like that.

  • the poem explained: it's a classroom setting with students making noise so loudly and annoyingly, I had no choice but to close my book and attempt to sleep. But suddenly everywhere became silent and what prompted the silence was the intrusion of my girlfriend, whom I termed, "my inamorata"

    FIGURES OF SPEECH:

  • stanza1 line3- Onomatopoeia

ding-ding and kpla-kpla were the sounds

  • stanza3 line3- Simile

T'was as if I visited the market

  • stanza3 line4- Personification

But suddenly silence visited

  • stanza4 line2- Personification

thought death visited all except me

  • stanza6 line1- Simile

Having her was like heaven to me

  • stanza6 line4- Onomatopoeia

Kpoho-Kpoho- she's my inamorata!

A big thanks to my Literature in English Teacher back then in high school days.. Your impact will forever me applauded.

DQmNgThTxf2RfTtp91wQkxJRwLkW4118ehgaMTuU9KwRx6W.gif

Sort:  

beautiful poem from beatiful soul

Hey @gabeman,
Your post "My Inamorata!" hast just been resteemed !!!.🙃🙃🙃
You have earned this service just by following me..


🙃😝🙃 Be ENGASED to continue with this FREE Restreem service @tow-heed🙂🙂🙂