A poem called: 'Through Toils and Terrors'

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

If you aren't aware already and enjoy poems, @margaretwise hosts the #poemchallenge every Friday. This is one of my entrys.

I Waited Intently For The Lord.png

source

He brought me up out of the pit of destruction,
Through toils and terrors snatched from obstruction.
Lift up your heart to the ancient of days,
Turn your back on corruption, embrace the change.

I waited intently for the Lord,
Through darkness, through despair, worth it for the applause.
Endless temptation, unending frustration;
The glory of the life to come, I am longingly waiting.

How blessed is the man who has made the Lord his trust,
Put on the breastplate of righteousness, faith is a must.
Wave after wave of useless, wretched, fleshly lust,
Hold steadfast in the Lord you will gain His trust.

I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation,
I hope each day your glory is revealed to the nations.
Sunk down low, dragged into a cycle of despair,
To lay eyes on your person again, I belong there.

For evils beyond number have surrounded me,
Lifeless, empty, they seek to destroy your family.
Don't let them my Lord, display your power, reveal your majesty;
At your name they flee, The chosen king, Jesus Christ is He.

Be pleased, O Lord, to deliver me;
Make haste, O Lord, to help me.
Adopted children yet unworthy,
Don't hide your face my Lord, it is time to uproot your enemy.


Thank you for investing your time reading my content, Comments and Upvotes are appreciated. If you'd like to see more I'd invite you to


Join the Christian Curation Trail via https://steemauto.com/
DQmTEqc9yfnsnWbfVAQVB4cKGDM5fvnFgZJAgPq8Z5ZEMfs.jpg


For up to date Christian content follow @christian-trail @forgodsglory @Steemchurch @flamingbot