Ground Zero

in #poetry7 years ago

GROUND ZERO

That day in late October
We were having another fight
and I was standing there quiet
holding it in as I always do
and you said I never did anything
That was the last time
Picking up the shattered pieces
of the me I left behind
and the dreams that I'd forgotten
left to die along
the dessert road
trying not to turn my back
on you
like the rest of them
I love you
but I can't do this anymore
I need to be able to look at
those eyes
that stare at me
and be ok with what I see
reflected back
Screaming at God
asking Him why
repeating this cycle
I can't do this anymore
need to rewrite my story
outside of of all the boxes
and the burning of your judgements
that never seem to heal
and learn to be calm in this skin again
walking on a new path
to finding my happy
an ending that I am ok with
and not through the eyes of of everyone else
I love you
but I can't do this anymore
I need to be ok
with the eyes looking
back at me