You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Ravendale Hill: Part 1

in #poetry6 years ago

IMG_20180228_071318.jpg

We are visited by ravens every day. My little one got excited this morning and called me to look. He knows they are the ones I'm not scared of.
He took some photos, they were a lot closer than this looks.
I think of you everytime I see them. X

I found myself surrounded by ravens are cockatoos the other day.
I had just been doing some research into indigenous peoples stories about them, so was a little excited.
The family groups of the Noongar people from western Australia are divided to subgroups that are represented either by the raven or the cockatoo.

In the past, the Noongar had two great family groups – the crows (Wardong) and the white cockatoos (Mandich) – and for a crow to marry a crow or a cockatoo to marry a cockatoo was regarded as incest and severely punished. They saw the crow and cockatoo as "yin and yang", each complementing and balancing the other's characters.

Ravens are commonly referred to as crows in Australia. But they are actually ravens.

www.farmweekly.com.au/news/metro/national/general/ancient-tales-of-perths-fascinating-birds/2694345.aspx

Sort:  

Fantastic I absolutely love this! How lucky you are to have one come so close! I had a group of about 8 land around me a while ago - probably youths I'm guessing as apparently that is the only time they tend to travel in groups. I didn't realise at the time how lucky I was to have seen that as I've never seen it since although I do always see a raven when I go out for a walk <3 I'm sorry I haven't been in. I've been incredibly run down and also I've had to take a step back from lots of stuff well I try and get my hands in order. However I have just bought this brilliant book by a lady called Sharon Butler and it is all about releasing the tension very very gradually bit by bit in overworked hands. I am still around just not popping in all the time. I really hope you are ok and you are reaching some kind of resolution with your issues. I think of you often xx

I spend a lot of time resting, it drives me crazy, but I also have trouble with hands and posture. I take a note book or sketch book and lie down on my bed.
I could hear a raven in the trees, I couldn't see it but I could hear it call. I thought of you and made a short video. I will send it to you, maybe in an email.