Inter-flection

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I did not ask
To be let go -
I asked to stay,
But when I asked
I did not know
The one I asked
Had looked away,
Until I found
It was too late.

It hurts.
Drifting.
Was never something
I had
Planned
To do:
I need soothing -
Yet, resigned,
I've carried on
But though I've battled
Through,
Inside
The stark reality
That keeps me held
And won't let go,
Is this:
I've never really coped so well.

I've fought harder
Than I'd ever thought
I might,
I've climbed hills
Higher than I ever
Ought
To do,
Yet,
Each time,
I've fallen down again
And though I've grit my teeth
And struggled up,
Again,
It all comes
Back
To this tired,
Torn and broken
Heart
Of mine:
In constant grief
It weeps
And weeps,
Unbeared to the truth
That wants to hide
But always seeps:
That I am no longer
Part of you.