You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎵Music Album Review : Jim Morrison - An American Prayer (1978) 🎵

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Wow. PHENOM_ENAL post, my man. Really. Glad I've found you lol. Fascinating. I was a HUGE the Doors fan... back in ... long ago lol. Lotta drugs... anyway. Read a couple biographies, but, fell away before I ever listened to American Prayer. I seem to recall my friends and I "not thinking it was cool" or some shite haha. But, how you framed it, is fascinating... Especially seeing as I've just recently re-redding some stuff on Hendrix death (which sounded super fishy) AND my personal big-one, Cobain, which has really been chappin my ass. Point is: got me thinkn of course now about Morrison.. Anyway.

To answer your question, of "what would Jim think?" I don't know... i don't know. Something about how you talked about morrison reminded me of Cobain though--hell, probably with a lot of artists... how the "business side" of things really fucked them up--although, in actuality, it isn't really so much the Business per se, as it is fucked up ass people around you screwing you over, --and then you mix the drugs in, especially addictive ones... it's a recipe for disaster :(( . Not that Morrison (or Hendrix, for that matter) were ever super super into hardcore drugs like heroin or coke, even--at least not to where they're strung the fuck out, that I've ever heard (although apparently morrison died from heroin OD? What do u think?). But Cobain, yes. Interestingly, now that i'm thinking about it, the tragedies did always almost always involve a "female" antagonist in some way or another lol... Jussayin! (Lennon, Cobain (terribly), Hendrix (yup), Morrison--notorious womanizer--wasn't pamela there with him in Paris when he died??) !! Oh, have to add: Favorite Doors Album: Waiting For the Sun.