Smiles and Cries

in #poetry7 years ago

FATBOY
My lover, my heart and most of all my friend.
In your arms is where I felt the safest.
My yellow baby, My Fatboy.
I loved you.
Oh, how I loved the taste of your lips, because they were the sweetest.
All the date nights and beautiful love that we made
God knows that I loved you.
All the times you made me laugh when secretly I wanted to cry,
Babe I swear I loved you.
I never really imagined my life without you in it.
I never thought that you would end up lying the way that you do.
I never thought that you would be the reason for my tears.
I never thought you would make my heart revisit those long-lost fears.
I never thought that you would hurt me the way you did.
I never really thought there would be no me without you.
You see you weren’t just my lover but you were my friend.
I never would have thought that you would devalue me the way that you do.
I never thought I would have to find the words to say goodbye.
It’s hard to find those words when you already walked away without even blinking an eye.
The nerve of you to plaster your women in my face.
The way you bragged about them.
Where were they when you were in your darkest hour?
Telling the world how you loved them and now you swear you about to be married.
So in love and ready to be married but still on my line telling me you love me.
Still on my line telling me you miss me.
All on my line saying how you are excited to see me.
All in my ear still trying to make love to me.
Craziest thing of it all, you went and got a chick with my name
MY NAME!
I remember when I found peace in your smile.
You are not the man that I thought you were.
Who I thought you were does not exist.
Who I thought you were is a figment of my imagination.
The man I thought I knew was loving and kind.
The man I thought I knew had his own mind.
The man I thought I knew had a heart full of love.
The man I thought I knew was considerate of others.
The presence of the man I knew was like a breath of fresh air.
The man I knew, I now realize was not ready.
The man I knew, still has some growing to do.
The man I knew is one that I could never hate.
This man I knew is one that I will always love with no conditions.
The one I know, is now one I must love from a distance.
I loved you then and I love you now.
This my love is where I gracefully bow out. image