To Kill a King

in #poetry7 years ago

To Kill a King

Too often he finds himself sitting here trying to write,
unable to find the stars in the night, sometime it seems his lights too bright,
so he dimmed it down with some fears, that he happened to pick up over the years,
but now he's getting past it, picked back up his dreams and compassion,
remembered where he put his passion,
sitting here waiting for everyone to move beyond the fashion,
and ideals that are clashing, just when you think you'd figured out the masses,
just when you realize how much apathy harasses,
we must realize we can surpass these things

You see Eyedea told me kill the king, but he never told me how,
so I decided to become him and change him from the inside out.
You see I figured out what he really meant was to never let him die.
To pull him back to reality and never let him hide.
To free him of his past, and deconstruct all the lies,
To make him understand that the only reason he's cried,
is because in reality he's locked himself inside and can't hear himself scream,
he blinds himself to the world he hears weep, because he feels hurt so deep,
he can't understand how a new tragedy keeps happening each week.
Until finally he's had enough and decides to speak.

You see I believe the idea Eyedea spoke of is not actually so bleak,
as to commit murder of the leader of the sheep.
Rather kill all you have seen him to be,
Become him,
and show the world what you believe it could be.
For we are all Kings, and Queens everyone of you and me,
all caught up in a reality we've agreed we cant quite believe,
so if that sounds like something you can see in me,
then all I ask of you is to help me be, everything you wish you could see in me,
I promise I'll do the same, or else we'll all end up from where we came,
With broken beings all trying to figure out who's to blame.

-Grandstar
4/15/17