First Post "Dark Places"

in #poetry6 years ago

Hey, everyone! This is obviously my first post and I'm not fully comfortable with blogging yet. So, I thought I would share a piece of my writing that I feel some people may relate to about depression. I have always loved writing and this particular piece can be a bit dark but ,no need to fear, happy poetry is yet to come.
Thank you and take care steemers!
-Grim

Dark Places
In the darkest places in my mind you rest
Only revealing yourself when I least expect it
On these days even the simplest things aren't what they appear
A mirror is now the reflector into my lost soul as I stand there staring
Empty
Staring at everything with questions
Questions of its existence
Your existence
Why am I here? Why do I have to feel this way?
Minutes feeling like days
Unable to move
Lifeless yet still having to feel every emotion
As time passes, it feels as if pieces of your spirit are being ripped out of your body
Goodbye laughs, smiles and everything good
I greet you darkness ,unwillingly, and shall always be under your control

maxresdefault.jpg

Sort:  

Great post, and welcome to steem. I've also battled with depression, and you're writing on it brings me back to my own exestential dread that was packaged with my depression. I hope things are looking up for you, and that you find light.

Thank you Joeyok. There is nothing more comforting than knowing there are people who understand and that no one has to battle this struggle alone. I hope things are looking up for you as well and always continue to do so.