pursuit of happiness

in #poetry7 years ago

waterfall-2271231_640.jpg

we must be strong.
we must persevere.
we must ride the high tides,
and the low ones too.
they are inevitable.
just remember that when you are on the low tide,
think of the impending high tides.
keep yourself interesting.
take an interest in the world.

learn to love,
not just in the form of romantic relationships,
but also,
love your family,
your friends,
your dog,
your local baker,
your children,
your neighbor,
your garden;
most of all, yourself...

stay beautiful,
inside and out.
age gracefully.
maintain a healthy lifestyle.
always be kind to others but know when to take a stand for your own rights.
live with values and principles.
live mightily.
laugh. cry. take walks. cook. travel.
never stop learning.
connect with others.
don't take everything too personally.

it's not easy to be happy. it's a pursuit. happy is a state of mind to most of us now. to reach the level of permanent content, we must first learn how to love without forming attachments. don't cling, don't be jealous. rid of all negative energy. you are one with yourself, and one with the world. allow others to grow but never depend on them. be compassionate. stop judging. help others and make a difference. give and expect nothing in return. that's my goal in life. but first, i must start with myself. i need to start living responsibly, kindly and beautifully. i must first learn to trust myself, then learn to earn the trust of others. that's my goal.

the modern culture places too much emphasis on the degradation of self. i was once a victim, but i realized, why? sooner or later you will wake up and be sick and bored of the life you now lead. hedonism is fabulous. but for me, it's not enough to last an entire lifetime. if i'd die at 30, hell i'd be partying all day all night. but what comes after that? after 40... 50, 60, 70 and maybe even 80? nurture your soul. enrich the mind. what does "enjoying life" entail anyway? we all have different interpretations. for me, i'm over the whole "alcohol-clubbing-drugs-bed-hopping" scene. they meant nothing. they didn't make me any happier. one thing that they did though was made me realize how silly i used to be. it's kind of fun at the time, but after a while, they just got kind of bland...

girl-1211581_640.jpg

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Nice one @honeybee !Love starts from you and everything or everyone around you will follow. For me, putting your desire not to the world will give me happiness than this world offers. It is hard to find joy if you don't have joy within you. That's why we keep on doing all the things we could until we die not finding the kind of love or joy we want because we forget to put ourselves first than other people. It is not bad to be selfish from time to time. Do it without expectations. Don't expect something in return. I realized it in the hard way.

totalmente cierto

Wow, you won my Heart @gail2911 you are an awesome artist. It is hard to find joy if you don't have joy within you. I agree with you. Loving yourself is most important. Appreciated and upvoted.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

the true love is selfless love, it is very rare to find in life.

Wow, that's amazing. I think you are a very talented artist

Captivating & Motivating

Great post @honeybee . Yes first of all, we have to love and accept our unique self then we can love and accept others. Be mindful and express gratitude what we have in this life, everybody's life is different. Being nonjudgmental,optimistic and acceptance of life situation( not in control) make us happy and longevity.

you got it man. well done. let us all embark on this path with security, confidence and clarity.

It seems you pondered your heart in this post. The title reminded of movie "The Pursuit of Happyness." and the content reminded me to love everyone around me.
The write up is poor, but the poem is good.

"Nurture your soul, enrich the mind"... and love what you have, not what you don't. Lovely read. Thank you :)

One must first experience sadness in order to know what happiness is like.

Motivation.png

really really awesome poetry. up vote you .
very nice to share.
wish you like to see my my post https://steemit.com/life/@adviser/life-is-like-battle-field-poem

I am totally on th same page. Thank you so much, great content!

AAh, Very strange and really difficult to stay happy! but try try & try to happy not for ourself but for others!

The biggest investment in the world should in yourself. Know yourself better than anyone else and you will never be sad in your life.

Extraordinary.
I am inspired with you.
When I read your post, it seems my soul is flying @honeybee

What a lot of us don't realize is that life really is too short. Gaining perspective at the right time is key to living a happy and fulfilling life, what one needs to learn is to find meaning in some activity and then to keep on keeping on. Great post!

So very true!

too right. right time, right place, right opportunity. strive, persistence and consistency will increase your well being in magnitudes

So deep and mind awakening😍

Resteemed

I really like your post, your post is very useful for me and I will wait for the next post. Have a good day for your friends

wow amazing, nice ..

Excellent writing. It's really easy to be unhappy, than learning to feel harmony.

Very nice indeed. The pursuit of happiness is what we all seek, but most look in the wrong places!

Love every one
Be strong
Nice poetry
Great thought

Nice script. Upvoted and following you. Please visit my blog @bikash-tutor. Thank you.

Happiness is just a matter of choice.

amazing post buddy,, i'll follow you and i hope you follow me back.
and resteem my post.

Perfect nice post

@honeybee words of wisdom. The poem really shows what the true values in life are. One questions though, what happens when standing up for your self means to not trust others? I'm curious to see what is your take on that.

This reminds me of my grandfather from my maternal side. He used to say live gracefully. Hurt no one. Believe in yourself always. Look after your family and your loved ones. This post reminded me of him instantly. Thanks for sharing.

Amazing .... "always be kind to others but know when to take a stand for your own rights" , i love this part, deep massage...

El amor debe ser la energía que nos mueve, nos alimenta y nos complementa, hoy casualmente tuve un dia de eso en que podría no pensar que es un día de mierda, y tu mensaje a esta hora de la noche mientras tecleo con el sonido de los grillos de la parte de atrás de la casa retumban como un estruendo que debe llevarme al infierno de lo mas seguro, me dejaste paz y amor para irme a la cama como un lirón, la verdad es que gracias totales, mientras que seguimos caminado por ese camino amarillo del baldosas como la historia del mago de oz. Saludos desde Venezuela.

Be Kind
Be Useful
Be Productive
Be Positive
Be Happy
Be Helpful

Very nice poetry... Really enjoyed it ..

Thank you for inspiring us with your poem

upvoted and follow..kindly check my post and upvoted it..lets help each other by the power of steem..https://steemit.com/poetry/@mrblu/cats-love-me-much-poem

Most of all, love your self.. like that point, many people give love for everyone so that they forget to love themselves. Thank you for inspiring content

I have to watch the movie pursuit of happiness again. Thank you for this poetry.

Inspirational and motivating. Real love starts from the inside, and true loves will be seen when the storm is coming. Like you wrote it's not of a kind of a romantic relationship, no true love has to do with everyday work and also sacrifice, but this will make you strong and solid in your life

good and like

amazing poem my friend please visit my page and read my topics thanks alot

Thanks for the advising post @honeybee . It make me thought about the book "Los 5 accuerdos Toltekos" of Miguel Ruiz that you can read about this.

Have a nice day

@Permatek - My last Post : Art Place

Always enjoying your poems

very nice, kindly follow me and check my post too. thanks

This is beautiful, it's great to get into steemit and find these things that makes you so much good, thank you so much for sharing! there's always hope!

HI, @honeybee

Thank you for this article today. This article has made my day. This is the first time I came across your post here on steemit.

For me, i believe love is the essential part of life. Most importantly, we ought to love ourselves and live a valuable life.
I have seen people who go through rejection in life, these people just dislike themselves, I'll like you to share with us on how to deal with rejection.

I'll like to share more ideas with you here on steemit. I'm now following you.
@kingsley-clement

followed back my brother, keep the mutual sharing alive.

It's nice to read a very positive views.

I love this last photo. The red coat stands out so much with the dark background.

I spent a great deal of time looking for it. it matches the exact aesthetic I was looking for

So good to read! I love poems and these kind of writings.Good job.

That image. Wow. Amazing!!!

This is touching

Beautifully done. I also write poems,but reading your works is really an eye opener for a newbie like me. Thank you for sharing great stuffs and inspiration.

Lovely poem!

Nice and upvoted! ☺

There are 2 pages
Pages