Dear Santa

in #poetry6 years ago

I wrote this poem for a great man. My deceased Grandfather was a very Honest and hard working man who left for me a legacy of what it means to be a Good Man. I hope you enjoy it.

I picture you every now and again pulling into the driveway with your old red truck
When i came to visit and you happened to be there, it was always the best of luck

I recall your white hair and light colored skin
It was so different from my own
I was always so excited when i'd wait for you just to simply come home

The smell of raw onions surrounded your room and the place where you would be
You would call me to give you a hug, a high five and place me upon your knee

Everytime i saw you, like clockwork, it never changed or stopped
You'd offered me a cookie, a smile and a toy that you made from your shop

You'd take me to the backyard just to test my parachute soldier there
From soldiers and planes to cars and games you brought toys everywhere

Your house was kind of old and scary and rather hot so i thought
But when you were there i felt happy and safe so the house mattered not

I remember the most awesome part about you was around Christmas time
You would dress in red with a hat on your head you'd yell ho ho ho to some chime

You rode around in a fire truck
passing presents from a bag to every kid
I had the greatest feeling when i learned you were Santa and thought of all the cool things you did

You were a firefighter and a soldier, i think or so i was told
It didnt matter because you were my hero and i was only a few years old.

From the day i knew what you did i wanted to be a fireman too
You were the most awesome person who lived
and i wanted to be just like you

Then one day when i was about the age of 6, you left me and never came home
They told me you were sick and then you were asleep, i didnt understand, where did you go...

The day i turned 7, i saw you in church you layed in a long wooden bed
They said you were sleeping and told me to say goodbye and to give you a kiss on the head

I did.... and you were cold, not at all like the warm papa i knew
I didnt understand it was my birthday... what was wrong? ...What happened to you?

Then we went to a field and i got out of a car to see your box like bed beneath a tent
And as they lowered you slowly i screamed out from afar and ran to see you again

Mother held me back and Nina grabbed me placing me by your side
She told you it was my birthday and i cried... and i cried... and i cried

After some time they took me to your house and for my day bought me a cake
I didnt eat or want any of it... i just wished you would get up...come back... be awake...

But you never got better and never came back so i never got to say goodbye
I miss you papa, a god awful lot and wish you were here all the time

I wish i knew you better and i wish they'd tell me more about who you were
I only remember you love me a lot and the rest gets messed in a blurr

Anyway i missed you today and thats why i wrote this rhyme
Maybe someday ill see you again, and we can talk for a greater time.