Purple Petals, A Poem

in #poetry8 years ago

Purple Petals

Fallen purple petals
Withered with the passing days
If only I could have uttered
That shatteringly simple phrase

I'm sorry
Very sorry
It seems like only children weep
When it comes to things so small
Yet so profound

But with beauty long since passed
The sun then came and went
Making a steady enemy of gravity

And so from your porcelain perch
The petals began to fall
Dropping down to the tablecloth
Taking petals, leaves, and all

I wondered what had killed you
Was it the lack of bright sunshine
Or was it something more subtle
Yet far from benign

I wished there was a way
To preserve your vivid purple plumage
But the atrophy of time again commenced

And in the end
With the wilting
And the fading of faint purple
All else around you continued on
As if nothing had occurred

Sort:  

how long have you been writing poetry?

Its been a little over 3 years. I started when I was around 13. Although I didn't discover I was any good at it until about a year ago.

Check out my introduction. It will tell a bit about why I am using steemit as well as give some background to my writing.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@indigowaltz/trying-something-new-why-i-am-using-steemit-com

Poetry is language turned into music :)

I feel for them poor petals that whither away, but then comes rejuvenation when it's time to bloom again 🌼

Sweet yet bitter type reality to face as it reflects on ones life as well. Some short lived maybe far to short. Awesome poem, earned you another follower and than some.

Thank you very very much for your follow.

Nice poem, keep it up :)

Thanks for the feedback! It was really well put, and I couldn't be happier that my writing stands out to you!

Loading...