Reality, Vonnegut, and Me

in #poetry8 years ago

Reality, Vonnegut, And Me

Play The Smiths at my funeral
Then play games on my grave
Laugh at my old photographs
That you know you won't save

Write about it
Scream about it
By all means go insane
Just don't worry about me
Consciousness dies with the brain

Dim highway headlights
And crooked paintings on the wall
Colder afternoons
Shifting to nightfall

Unfiltered cigarettes
In the hands of holy saints
The world is crumbling faster now
There's no more room for complaints

Bright morning sunshine
And the burning of hellfire
Cheap coffee getting cold
And the feel of razor wire

Caged birds flying
Unfazed by the bars
It's easier to forget your freedom
When you forget the stars

It seems like in the beginning
People just did not see
The start of a crooked era
The atrophy of humanity

Sort:  

Vonnegut lived in alplaus new york,which is about ten mins. from where I live.He was in the volunteer fire department and they were at his funeral and gave him full honors.He based many of his American surroundings on his own,upstate new york and it is what in part what influenced his created environments and his writing as a whole

Very cool! Thanks for that, very interesting!

:)

Your smiley face is appreciated :D

Interesting!

I am not a big poetry fan, but this one struck a chord. very nice..... Vonnegut got my attention as for Kurt I am a big fan...

Titles are what draws one in, the peom itself is what keeps them there. Glad you found it intriguing enough to check out!

Great poem! Vonnegut was a favorite of mine growing up. Do young folks still read him today? He was very politically active and spoke out about a lot of the political skulduggery shortly before he died. I miss him.

I would like to think he is still read today, although I wouldn't know.

Nice poem, Indigowaltz. A positive twist on a normally dark time.

Thank you, glad you enjoyed my writing!

Amazing, @indigowaltz. This one gave me chills. Really solid work!

And thank you for that comment, It means a lot

Loading...