You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The Day That Trump Was Sworn" (poem) ... Is He Dividing The Nation or Are We?

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I think this post could benefit from your contribution. Or, at least, from a link suggested over here to your own.

https://steemit.com/life/@sumatranate/united-states-or-the-divided-states

My short answer is that WE are. We are responsible for our own individual actions. But does the (lowered) level, the crass level, of political discourse have an influence on us? Yes, it does. Or rather, it can. It's up to us how much we let it inform our opinions, though. That's the problem. We let others tell us how to think, and what to think. We let our particular brand of news (right side or left side) define our enemies for us and tell us who to hate and give us the idea that we should hate at all. And I'm not simply advocating for peace and love and that we all hug it out. I would advocate for peace; who in their right mind wouldn't? But I think we also, more than simply, need to debate. And debate can get hot. But that's the point. It works when done right. When it devolves into hot-headed, red-eyed, vein-popping ad-hominem (hyphenated-words for angry things) then it does not.

I'd love to see some of that debate here on steemit. It seems like I've wandered into different camps in my perusing. But I'd love to see people begin talking across party lines. I think it would be great. And possibly really beneficial, at least on a personal level for a lot of us. I want to know what people are really thinking. I think you write well enough that you could be a part of starting that.

I'm trying to read through to your newer posts, but the one I'm on I've had to pause and think on for a minute. It's that good. I'd say #2 on my list of favorites seen here so far. I'll get to it. Just thought I'd link this reference over to you.