I CAN'T WAIT TO DIE

in #poetry6 years ago

image

One day, my eyes will close for one final sleep,

A befitting respite, after a long arduous, albeit climb,

To heights beyond clouds of doubts and lack of self-belief,

Where the one sights are more rewarding dreams,

And the air you breathe only inspires your mind to create,

The birds chirp a happy song, and there’s a continuous chant,

From all that surrounds – more, more, more…

Who can blame them, I’m just a vessel after all,

And this tasty wine I carry is a libation to the one,

By whose breath my soul comes alive.

After climbing this high, I’ve learnt a few things,

Only sweaty fingers and broken bones can teach.

When your dreams shatter before you, and your hope begins to wane,

You realize how inept you are on your own,

How you never meant to be alone,

And how you’ve somehow tricked yourself into believing,

That all you need is the freedom to do as your heart pleases.

Alas, the only eclipse I’ve seen, is from closing the blinds,

To the window of wisdom, that could’ve set my soul free.

And so I’ve sworn, to never question the lessons pain has taught,

To smile through the cycles of steep layers and hailstorms,

How can the climb be worth it, if the mountain presents no real challenge?

Better question,

How could I not have noticed how only these trials could prepare me,

For his promise?

So, yes I can’t wat to reach the end of my journey,

For even though it’s too far away to see,

And each new summit will present its trials,

The climb will be worth it.

In the end, the view will be too glorious for the construct of feeble words.