POEM: As Many Times as it Takes

in #poetry5 years ago

natarajasana


I’ve been hiding lately, needing downtime and me time. Binge-watching Shadowhunters and Arrow on Netflix and editing manuscripts has been my go-to, rather than recording music and doing videos.

Sometimes I just don’t want to get in front of a camera. I wonder if actors ever feel that way.

I did write a new song today, though, and I’m quite liking it. Hope to get it recorded this week, but for now, here are the lyrics.

line

As Many Times as it Takes


I don’t even know you, but you make me stronger.
On my knees, I get up again.
You remind me I can.
You remind me I can.

But I want more than survival,
More than just getting by.
I see your purpose, you make it worth it,
Remind me of mine.

If you can survive all that, I can go on,
Stand tall, brave it all.
I’m gonna fall, but I will rise
As many times as it takes.
As many times as it takes.

So many set backs, body cracked open,
But your scars fascinate me,
Your stories fascinate me.
Can I learn to embrace my own, please?

Get myself into fighting shape, ‘lil more each day.
Push too hard, breathe through the strain.
Swallow the pain.
Swallow the pain.

I see how much you hide,
Too many lies like a minefield.
What happens if you step out?
Can you trade the silence for a shout.

Be still within, wisdom fills the hollow,
But keep moving, run, run,
Don’t let the sun catch the moon.
Don’t die too soon.
Live on. Live on.

If you can survive all that, I can go on,
Stand tall, brave it all.
I’m gonna fall, but I will rise
As many times as it takes.
As many times as it takes.

Original writing by Katrina Ariel.

line

Thanks for reading. :)

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Top photo: Nat Anfield | model: Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
Dragon art commissioned from Liiga Smilshkalne.


alliance banner

Sort:  

A lotus going on with you. It is good to focus on what is most important.

There is nothing wrong with not liking to be in front of the camera.
Is it necessary with music at all?
Would like to hear the music to these lyrics.

Wish you a happy day

Posted using Partiko Android

You’re right, a lot happening these days. And, no, I don’t necessarily need to get in front of the camera for music, but I do for open mic. Thank you for the kind comment. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for your efforts towards promoting our Blockchain with Twitter!

Thank you for yours!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow. I love it. I can't wait to hear it with the music. And your voice.

You are really the only one that knows when the time for anything you share is right. Much as I might wish to hear this sung I'll just wait until it's your time.

I think maybe that's the difference between us and professional actors. They can push through and give a performance even when the time 'isn't right'.

I really appreciate your kind words, Tom. I think sometimes we need to push ourselves, but sometimes we push too hard. Tricky to know the difference, but life is a mystery to be discovered each day. Thank you for the sweet comment. 💞

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think that feeling of downtime/no creativity is fine.

Learning to accept these things in our normal daily routine is actually what the Year of the Earth-Pig is about.

I heard a great quote from Henry David Thoreau recently... I’ll paraphrase it... basically a hen lays an egg once in the day and then spends the rest of nourishing herself to lay another egg tomorrow. She doesn’t keep laying eggs all day.

I loved this metaphor. Too much emphasis on productivity means quality is being sacrificed for quantity.

Creativity is not found on a conveyor belt.

Love your work.
😊🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is such a great metaphor to keep in mind. Nourishing ourselves is so important, yet doesn’t seem to be valued as much more than a luxury in our culture. Some days all I can do is be a mommy, and I’m still depleted from having twins, even after 4 years. My TCM reminds me that postpartum is 2-5 years for one child, so I have to remember to be kind to myself. Making humans from scratch means giving a lot of yourself.

Thank you for such a wonderful comment. 💞

Posted using Partiko iOS

I totally understand it....
... ran away for some down time myself this weekend!

Yes! Sometimes it’s the best thing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I see your purpose, you make it worth it,
Remind me of mine.

WHOA

Yeah. That.

Posted using Partiko iOS

We all need a downtime now and again
the lyrics are great looking forward to hearing the song

So true. And thank you! Hope to get my gear out to record soon. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

I look forward to seeing your next recording ;)

I know what you mean by needing a bit of down time. Lately I've just been watching audition videos for the Voice on youtube, and just practicing with my ukuleles.

Nice! Yes, downtime is necessary. So is no-pressure time to make music. 💞

Posted using Partiko iOS

Upvoted from PYPT curation show on TheRamble Steem18.png

Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko iOS

After hearing you sing this to life at family time tonight, with such passion, I am in love with it Princess! Wow. 🤗🤗😘🤗🤗new top 3 fav😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Aw, thank you. So glad you love it. Thank you for creating a safe space for me to practice my music with such great friends as my audience. 💞🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad you find it a comfort zone and are able to share with us. I'm not the only one that loves your voice😍🤗🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Always amazing writing :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 413 (02/27/19)

I love it. Beautifully written and highly relatable

Es una hermosa canción... buen poema