POEM: The Canvas of my Mind

in #poetry5 years ago

I think many of us are one thing on the outside, and something entirely different in our minds. For instance, my body isn't capable of things it once was. Not in the same way. I used to run up mountains, but I haven't had the time or physical capacity to do that in many years.

As a little girl, I remember riding in the back of my parents' car and imagining I was flying alongside, over the fields, through the mountains. I still feel like I'm flying when I close my eyes, or doing acrobatics worthy of a Marvel movie.

This poem was born of those thoughts that might not exist on the physical plane, but are nonetheless real to me...


sunset yoga
Photo: Nat Anfield, Model: Katrina Ariel

line

The Canvas of my Mind


I close my eyes.
I dance, I fly,
Hold tight to my sword
And lash out.

Worlds within worlds
Within me,
Unfolding in a searing,
Soaring spiral.

How many lifetimes
Rushing, brimming forth,
Asking to be sung,
Inviting me to free-fall?

I may look still,
Quiet, pensive,
But I am a thousand
Screams unfolding.

Dreams blooming,
Bleeding, painting themselves
Upon the canvas
Of my mind.

Original writing by Katrina Ariel.

line

Thanks for reading. :)

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of life. Check out her music here: https://choon.co/artists/katrina-ariel/

dragon
Dragon art commissioned from Liiga Smilshkalne.


alliance banner

Sort:  

I may look still,
Quiet, pensive,
But I am a thousand
Screams unfolding.

Brillant! You hit my soul

Ah, yes. That one seems to have hit a chord with quite a few...

But I am a thousand
Screams unfolding.

I feel this one ever so loudly. My frustration with some things cannot be expressed as time too, has withered away some of me.

Oh, I hear you. Keep fighting—there are still a lot of things we CAN do. ;)

Wow that is such a powerful Poem and one that I think everyone in one way or another can relate to

Thanks for sharing

Thank you! And yes. I'm glad we each have our imaginations. :)

Most welcome have a good week ahead

You too! ❤️

I will do my best, need to see a dentist tomorrow as I just broke a tooth a little while ago, never a good start to the week, but its a good dentist ;)

Ooh that's never fun. Good luck!

Thanks he is very good and sees patients quickly so its all good :)

I absolutly love this poem ❤️ you just put your words in such beautiful ways and I feel you.
So many times we have thoughts in our minds and imagine ourselves flying or doing things that we for some reason can't do anymore.
Not the same way anyhooo... But it doesn't mean we don’t think about it or wish for things.
So many things I remember doing as a kid to, and it was a free feeling.
I love your mind my sweet friend and I hear you.
Love you 🤗💋❤️

Thank you!!! It's so true, there are limitations on the physical realm that aren't there in our minds, so why not fly?

A beautiful poem, @katrina-Ariel! wow... searing words that want to unfold in screams?!!! Goodness... I feel like that at times! And sometimes it is about dreams that need fulfillment!
Have a beautiful and blessed Saturday, sis! Aloha🥰

Posted using Partiko iOS

And sometimes it is about dreams that need fulfillment!

Oooh, you always come in with wisdom, don't you? Mahalo. Aloha. ❤️

I am a thousand
Screams unfolding

^ i love this

Hold tight to my sword
And lash out.

Had to read the rest when I got this part.
I practice the art of Kenjutsu Katana, so you can easily imagine me dreaming of Bushido ritual combat in Medieval Japan or to the chaos of ship to ship Pirate raids in the South seas.

Oh yeah! I swear I was a sword fighter in a not-so-distant past life. Can't even count the times I've been angry and felt like there was a sword in my hand. I bet that's a fun/fulfilling art to practice!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @ashikstd.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you! ❤️

Absolutely beautiful, Katrina . . . I feel the wind in my face and hair when reading this. You've captured the moment eloquently.

So sweet, thank you! ❤️

very intense... I feel very identified... I often write and walk to the world within...
I'm queen of my own realm you know :)
Have missed yoU!