A Poem For My Daughter

in #poetry7 years ago

20170714_150940.jpg

My wrist couldn't resist
But write this song
I wouldn't exist you're my gift
Life ain't long

But when the mic is on
And my words written are spoken
They're dedicated to you
Our promise will never be broken

Give me your hand
And listen to the voice of your heart
Take a stand
And make the right choice from the start

Don't be getting to close to the dark
Just search for the light
You'll find excitement and memories
With a worthless kite

A father and his daughter on a worship site
Looking off the coast while the warships fight
Don't pay attention, old case pendin'
Photo-finish this life like a horse race endin'

Its so nice
To sit at the table
And eat with no fights
Cold nights, no price I would set on your life

Take the road that's less traveled
And when you shoot...
Shoot to kill with your best arrow
Keep your eye out

And watch for the pheonix
Don't believe it
Its build by a mechanical machinist
This system will teach you what greed is

You're a genius
You can tell whats not and what real is
Dream it you can do it if you feel it
If you ever feel defeated...

Will always be there when you need it
You live life once can't try to rewind or repeat it
In my mind you're the finest of god's design
We spent lots of time if we didn't I lost my mind

This was written by me for my beautiful daughter AMELIE born June 18, 2008.

-killerflu

If you guys would like to see more of my poetry please follow and resteem! Hope you enjoyed it!

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond