oh! operator. poem by kspeaks

in #poetry7 years ago

Oh! Operator,
Oh operator

Can't you see
What calling does to me?

Oh! operator
Can it be
This is what love it does to me?

Operator; yes, operator everytime
I add another dime, another dime
For you to connect the line
But can't you see
What it does to me? Does to me?

Oh! What calling does to me!
Oh! What loving does to me!

Everytime and every dime
It's my heart that's on the line.
Oh! Yes! Operator
With every dime,
I place my heart on the line.

So please, oh please
Connect me, to my gentlemen.
I'll pay all your fees,
To speak to him once again.

It's your dime collected,
Yet, my heart connected.

Another call, another dime;
One more time, my heart will fall.
I'll add another dime, Everytime
Yes, one more time, add another dime!

No, operator
It can not wait till later.
This lovers chat
Means so much more than that
That little dime
Now yours, once mine.

My heart, operator, spins around in a swirl
For we had a lovers quarl.
I'll pay you a dozen dimes
To disconnect all the lines.

Boys are a dime a dozen,
A dime a dozen.
Oh operator, can't you see?
What calling it does to me?

Oh! Please ring me
Even though I will be too busy for thee.
When it comes to you
The one who made me blue
I will be hurried for time
And conveniently low on dime.
Surely youll ring me
Since you're missing me!

It's my heart, operator, my heart
It's falling, falling apart.
From the absence of calling,
No ring of my bell has lead to falling!

No one's ringing
So I am left singing
A sad, lonesome song
Of lovers calling gone all wrong.

Oh, woo, oh, woo operator
Surely, he'll call me later.
Oh woo, oh , woo operator
Surely he'll ring me later.

Maybe, it could be?
That calling it's just not for me!
Oh! Operator, don't you see
Loving it's just not meant to be!

Oh! Operator could it be
My voice once so cheery
Is now doen and dreary?
Could it be, could it be?

Oh operator doesn't anyone have a dime
Or the time
For me?
I say, oh operator
Please tell me later
That it could not be,
A dime, a dime
is too expensive to love me!

1506606942545.jpg

For this poem I tried to use as few words as possible, yet create a poem that told a story and had length. I used the words operator, see, calling, me, love, time, dime, later, line, heart, mine, and fee to come across the main points and direct the story. I found it very hard to rearrange the words multiple times without repeated myself of becoming redundant in the story.
I am sure this type of poetry has an official name and if you know what it is please comment below. I was thinking about making it a writing contest to do weekly here in steem!
Thanks for viewing.

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team! Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!