I'm a Slave - Spoken Word Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

I performed this peace at the Victoria State Finals in Australia 2011
Inspired by waking up and realising that I didn't want to be where I was in a point in time. Unsatisfied with myself and realised how life and minutes go by so easily and without paying attention you can end somewhere you don't want to be, giving your power away.
When you allow yourself to be a slave to your emotions and cravings due to the program we grow up around, it is so easy to justify that we are being our true selves, when we are running the program.

This poem helped me make sense of being unsatisfied with myself and the world around me in my early 20's. It also was the beginning of deconstructing paradigms and reclaiming my sovereignty.

Poetry is a way for me process thoughts, let go of unwanted stress or emotion, and help me understand my true self and the world around me.
I hope through my expression, it gives others the power to SPEAK UP as well and maybe give them sense of something that they can not find words to describe.

456774_402116739821703_336201272_o.jpg

I am a slave to what I crave
I know doing it will distort me
But I do it anyway.....
As long as I see what I aim for
Instead of going insane more
by staying the same
What is it all for?

All I'm doing is attending to a mind game
sinking behind my name
and all of a sudden it's Friday
What do I have to say? and how have I spent my days?
running after what I crave

I'm tiered
We have so much abundance and not a lot of real value gets done
Do I enjoy fighting for life, or just fighting myself for fun?
If we realised what was happening, we'd say "Stop entertaining me"
How dare you advertise for hidden immorality
Planting seeds telling us what we need
Can you feel the power, I can even breath!

Unless we have bone discipline
and stone principle
and believe in ourselves more than we do miracles
we will go round in circles
A habit not resisted becomes a necessity
A habit not proof read or tested only gets the best of me
A habit which is automatic does damage if not managed
And you will reap havoc if you think what you do doesn't matter

We are all here to experience this existence
For instance
We can never be distance, nor apart
Though we ignore our instinct and especially our heart
No matter the action we are all moving towards satisfaction
Acting a if nothings happening
Like we're not about to step into our finest hour
Now that understanding comes second
And first comes power

It's time to uproot all kinds of selfish pursuits
So the fruits we produce taste of nothing but truth
I will not be a slave to what I crave
Because it will distort me so get out of my way
I have to see what I aim for instead of going the same
Because if I am not willing to change....

What is it all for?

310626_10150387378911528_1390248348_n.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for this great post. I'm really glad i saw it while scrolling through my feed. True words over there.. Have a nice day

Thank you so much for your message. I'm really glad it touched you.
Have a lovely yourself!