THE HOMELESS MAN

in #poetry6 years ago

people-875379_960_720.jpg

THE HOMELESS MAN

i was walkin' down the street, when i saw this homeless man
he was young, but looked so old
barely dressed, but it was so cold
it was so hard to look at him
there was nothin, just bones and skin
i gave him my jacket, i felt so sorry
he smiled, he began to tell me his story.....

there was a time i had a house, i had a wife
two beautiful daughters, a good job, a totally different life
yes, i lived a dream, i had it all
but when you fly so high, you can only fall
my wife left me one day, took even the girls away from me
that was the nightmare, i didn't want to see
i started to drink, every day more
lost my job, had a pile of unpaid bills, left all my money in the liquor store
i was so drunk, drunk really heavily
all this pain, i missed my family
then the day came when i lost my house, it was like a king loses his throne
i felt so empty, i felt so worthless, i felt so alone

don't hate me, don't judge me
don't hurt me, don't ignore me
you can look at a picture very long, without knowin' the meaning
you can see someone smile, but his heart is bleeding
we can feel free, but sleep in a cage
we all write our book of life, page by page

i was sittin' next to him, with tears in my eyes
there is no way he could made up this story, to tell me lies
it was heartbreakin' that no one wants to help him, no one seems to care
there are good people, but the question is where
so i decided to help him, to help him break the chain
to help him stand again, smile again, be without pain
he suffered enough, his scars were very deep
i found a place, where he can sleep
it took a while, but he looked again like a human bein'
his heart was no longer screamin'
he got a job, never touched a bottle ever since, that was his fight
there was no emptyness in his eyes anymore, you could see a light
a light, like a fire in the darkest night
the sadness is gone, the future is bright

don't hate me, don't judge me
don't hurt me, don't ignore me
you can look at a picture very long, without knowin' the meaning
you can see someone smile, but his heart is bleeding
we can feel free, but sleep in a cage
we all write our book of life, page by page

i was walkin' down the street, when i saw this happy man
surrounded by two beautiful girls, his daughters, Emily and Grace
i waved, there was a smile on his face........

Author: @maryjane90
picture taken from Pixabay