Season 6 Day 3 Round 1 'Pocalyse Poetry 'Lucky This Time'

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Lucky This Time

I made the trade two cans for blade
And she didn't even kill me
I feel like I have made the grade
Now let's see how papa thrills me

1503025197933533046885.jpg

I trudge along, humming a song
The edge of the town grows nearer
I see four options, right and wrong
I'd better start thinking clearer

A pawn shop to the left of me
Maybe I could find some ammo
Or more food should I go see
Or is that choice a whammo?

A sports store to my right hand side
Could find something for cover
Or some MREs were left to hide
Or something or another

I could just walk on out of town
With what I've taken already
But I'd be wearing dead mans frown
If I cannot hold this steady

I choose the sports store, right or wrong
But should I pick floor one or two?
I hope I can keep humming songs
When this harsh decision is through

This rhyme it has been fun to write
While my breath has been sustaining
But if floor two is wrong tonight
You will not hear me complaining

See you tomorrow?

This has been one of the most fun times I have had on Steemit. Thanks @papa-pepper for the #Steempocalypse experience , and thank @hopehuggs, @novaatebatman, and @superbuckles for this contest, which is fun but tough. Poetry on demand is really challenging. I hope I am not bungling it too badly.

Thank you everyone for your support, I love you all!

Sort:  

You are doing amazing. It is so hard to choose a favourite everyday because you are all doing so well.

Thank you so much!